Game Design Kindergarten

Videogame culture discussion
christian

Game Design Kindergarten

Post by christian »

http://www.pcgamer.com/richard-garriott ... ners-suck/
Tyler Wilde wrote: "If you like games, you eventually get to the point where you'd like to make one," said [Richard] Garriott. "But if you had this magic art talent as a youth, you can refine your skills and show a portfolio and say, 'I'm a good artist, go hire me' If you're nerdy enough to hack into a computer, programming on your own, you can go to school and learn proper structure, make code samples and go 'Look, I'm a good programmer, hire me.'

"But if you're not a good artist and not a good programmer, but you still like games, you become a designer, if you follow me. You get into Q&A and often design.

"And the most valuable part of creating a game is the design, which the programmers are technically executing. And they'd be happy to just execute some of them. But in my mind, most artists and programmers are just as much of gamers as the designers, and I usually find in my history that the artists and programmers are, in fact, as good of designers as the designers. They're often better, because they understand the technology or the art.

"So we're leaning on a lot of designers who get that job because they're not qualified for the other jobs, rather than that they are really strongly qualified as a designer. It's really hard to go to school to be a good designer."
Because most of those schools are actually kindergartens.
christian

Re: Game Design Kindergarten

Post by christian »

Even in most of the game design texts I've read, it amounts to little more than playing with blocks. They get away with it because its wrapped up in so many technical terms that its difficult to tell just how shallow it all is.
christian

Post by christian »

CPncS0uUsAERCRN.jpg
CPncS0uUsAERCRN.jpg (77.8 KiB) Viewed 9509 times